Is there a Neighborhood Watch group in my neighborhood?
Currently, there are over 10 Neighborhood Crime Watch groups in Seguin. To find out if your neighborhood has established a group, please contact the Crime Prevention Officer Carlos Contreras at (830) 401-2582 for additional information.
How do I get a copy of my Criminal Record?
Criminal Records are maintained by the Texas Department of Public Safety. For additional information, the TXDPS has provided a frequently asked questions
or you may contact them via telephone for Criminal History and Court Disposition information at (512) 424-2590.
Where can I get fingerprinted?
Fingerprint services may be obtained at the Seguin Police Department (350 N. Guadalupe Street), on Tuesday 8:30 a.m. - 11;30 a.m. and Thursday 1:30 p.m. - 4:30 p.m.
The cost for this service is for Seguin residents for a fee of $10.00.The organization or agency requiring the fingerprints should provide you with the card(s).
- Must provide proof of residence (for example: utility bill)
- Must have photo identification.
- Fee must be paid in cash, check, credit/debit card, or money order.
How can I get a copy of an accident report?
You can now order accident reports on-line! (click here)
In order to download copies of reports, you will need to have internet access and a credit card to purchase. To search for an accident report, simply enter either the report number or date of accident and last name.
Reports can be printed from the internet 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for a $10.00 fee. Please allow 3-5 days after the accident has occurred before attempting to access the reports. Hit and run accidents may require additional time.
Simply click on the link above to access the site or type the following address into your computer's browser:
How do I file a police report?
A non-emergency Police Report may be filed over the telephone by calling (830) 401-2350. You may also elect to visit either Police Department facility and speak with a police officer or community services technician in person to file a report. The Seguin Police Headquarters is located at 350 N. Guadalupe Drive, Seguin, Texas 77511.
How do I report Child Abuse?
You can contact the Seguin Police Department at (830) 379-2123 (or 9-1-1 in emergencies) to report suspected child abuse or neglect incidents. In accordance with Texas law, you are also required to contact the Texas Department of Family and Protective Services at (800) 252-5400.
Texas law states that anyone who thinks a child, or person 65 years or older, or an adult with disabilities is being abused, neglected, or exploited must report it to the DFPS. A person who reports abuse in good faith is immune from civil or criminal liability. DFPS keeps the name of the person making the report confidential. Anyone who does not report suspected abuse can be held liable for a misdemeanor or felony.
I disagree with the motor vehicle crash report the Police Officer filed. How can I tell my side?
Police Officers respond to motor vehicle crash scenes as report takers and are required to make a determination as to the contributing factors in the crash; Officers DO NOT determine fault. If you have spoken to the Officer about the incident and still have differing opinions, you may submit your written description of the incident to the Police Records Division at the Seguin Police Department (350 N. Guadalupe Street, Seguin, Texas 77511). You may also elect to call the Records Diision at (830) 401-2350 for additional information.
What happens to the complaints filed against Police Officers or other employees by citizens?
The Seguin Department recognizes the importance of protecting the community from employees who have demonstrated acts of misconduct or have shown they are unfit for law enforcement work, the need to protect employees from false allegations of misconduct, and the opportunity to periodically assess the effectiveness of our policies and procedures. The Professional Standards Unit is responsible for administering the complaint process and you may register a complain several different ways. More information is available in the Compliment/Complaint section of the webpage.
Is there a teen curfew in Seguin?
Persons age 16 and younger are prohibited from public places without adult supervision between the hours of 11:00 pm and 6:00 am, Sunday through Thursday, and between the hours of midnight and 6:00 am on Friday and Saturday. Certain exceptions for work and school activities may apply.
Can I get a permit to carry a handgun?
Concealed handgun permits are issued by the Texas Department of Public Safety. Information can be obtained at https://txapps.texas.gov/txapp/txdps/chl/
or by calling (512) 424-7293.
Do I need a permit to have a garage sale?
Yes, a permit is required.
To get a permit, bring $5.00 and proof of address (Driver's License or utility bill) to the Building Inspection Department on the second floor of City Hall (105 N. River Street, Seguin, Texas 77511). Permits are issued Monday - Friday during normal business hours.
Does the Seguin Police Department have a Reserve Officer Progam?
No. The Seguin Police Department does not have a Reserve Police Officer Program at this time and does not expect to implement one in the future.
I have speeders on my street. How can I get a Police Officer to come catch them?
The Seguin Police Department utilizes several different methods in addressing problematic speeding areas. We may put our speed trailer there to help show vehicles their actual speed (sometimes this helps) or we may increase our presence there with marked patrol or motorcycle traffic units.
If you have this type of issue, please contact the Operations Captain at (830) 379-2123 for assistance and a solution.