Compliment / Complaint

Compliment a Seguin Police Employee

If a Seguin Police Department employee has done a good job and you want to say thanks, there are many ways to submit a compliment:

  • Call 830-379-2123 or visit the Seguin Police Department during regular business hours and ask to speak to a supervisor within the employee's division of assignment.
  • You may also email your compliment to Lt. Mike McCann
  • Please send written compliments to:
    Seguin Police Department
    Attn: Professional Services Unit
    350 N. Guadalupe Street
    Seguin, TX 78155

Your comments will be forwarded through the employee's chain of command and reviewed by the Seguin Chief of Police. After review, a copy of your comments will be placed in the employee's personnel file and the original document provided to the employee.

File a Complaint Against a Seguin Police Employee

The Seguin Police Department recognizes the importance of protecting the community from employees who have demonstrated acts of misconduct or have shown they are unfit for law enforcement, the need to protect employees from false allegations of misconduct, and to periodically assess the effectiveness of our policies and procedures. These objectives can only be accomplished through a consistently thorough and objective investigative process.

The Professional Standards Unit of the Seguin PD is responsible for administering the complaint process. Should you believe an employee has been involved in misconduct or are dissatisfied with our service, you may file a complaint by:

  • Contacting the Professional Standards Unit during regular business hours at 830-401-2369.
  • Contacting an on-duty Supervisor at 830-379-2123 after regular business hours.
  • Complete, print, sign and mail a Complaint Form (PDF) to:

    Seguin Police Department
    Professional Standards Unit
    350 N. Guadalupe Street
    Seguin, TX 78155

* Complaint forms can also be dropped off at the Seguin Police Department.

Texas law requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints must be made within 30-days of the incident unless special circumstances exist. The person who was wronged must file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.

False Complaints

Filing a false complaint against a police employee is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail up to one year or by both fine and imprisonment.