The Records Division consists of one full-time Records Manager and 2 full-time Records Clerks who are responsible for:
- State and Federal National Incident Based Reporting (NIBRS)
- Processing offense reports, accident reports and arrest jackets
- Record/Background checks
- Filing copies of cases to the appropriate courts
- Statistical reports/Crime stats
- State and Federal Uniform Crime Reporting (UCR) Reports
- Open records requests - Please email requests to the Records Division
Open Records Requests
Open record requests (in accordance with the Texas Public Information Act, chapter 552 Government Code) must be submitted in writing and must include your name, address, phone number, the type of report you need, the date of the incident, case number (if known), and name/s of persons involved. The request must be signed and dated and submitted to the Records Division Monday through Friday between the hours of 8 am and 5 pm.
Accident Reports are not available through the Seguin Police Department Records Department. The reports must be purchased through either Crash Records Information System (CRIS) or LexisNexis.
- CRIS purchase system: There is a $6 fee for accident reports. Reports are withheld from release to the public for 72 hours after the report has been approved. For questions or assistance with the CRIS System, call 844-274-7457.
- LexisNexis Crash Report system: There is an $11 fee. Reports are released to the public the following day after the report has been approved. For questions or assistance with the Lexis Nexis system, call 866-215-2771.
- The Seguin Police Department does not certify documents.
Driver's Crash Reports
The Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT) is the custodian of crash records for the State of Texas. Texas Transportation Code §550.062 requires any law enforcement officer who in the regular course of duty investigates a motor vehicle crash that results in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to the apparent extent of $1,000 or more, to submit a written report of that crash to TxDOT no later than the 10th day after the date of the crash.
TxDOT collects crash reports from every law enforcement agency in Texas and for crashes that occur on any public roadway in Texas, not just crashes occurring on the state highway system. The state retention schedule for crash reports and data are 10 years plus the current year. The current retention schedule effective in 2015 contains only five previous years plus the current year. Data for years beyond this period is not available. Each year TxDOT will continue to add one year to the retention schedule until the 10-year retention schedule is met.
TxDOT also collects Driver's Crash Reports (CR-2) (Blue Form). Texas Transportation Code §550.061 requires the operator of a vehicle involved in a crash to make a written report of the crash if the crash is not investigated by a law enforcement officer and the crash resulted in injury to or the death of a person or damage to the property of any one person to an apparent extent of $1,000 or more. The Blue Form needs to be filed with the vehicle owner's insurance company.
The Texas Department of Public Safety collects crash reports submitted by law enforcement officers. Both are available to the public at the links below. These forms can be submitted for a processing fee through the Texas DPS site:
- Texas Peace Officer's Crash Report: This report is completed by a law enforcement officer investigating a traffic crash when apparent damage is $1,000 or more, or when the crash resulted in injury or death.
- Hit and Run Report: Email the police officer to request the other driver's information (if possible).
You can now order accident reports online!
To download copies of reports, you will need internet access and a credit card to purchase. To search for an accident report, simply enter the date of accident and last name. * DO NOT USE THE REPORT NUMBER.
Online reports can be printed 24 hours a day, 7 days a week for an $11 fee. Please allow 7 to 10 days after the accident has occurred before attempting to access the reports.
Reports of Peace Officer Involved Injuries or Death
As required by Art. 2.139 of the Texas Code of Criminal Procedure, law enforcement agencies shall report all officer-involved injuries or deaths caused by the discharge of a firearm. For reports of this category (injuries or death to non-peace officer) a separate form will be created for each officer who causes injury or death through the discharge of a firearm.
Open Reports and Publications | Office of the Attorney General