caption

Compliment/Complaint

Compliment a Seguin Police Employee

If a Seguin Police Department employee has done a good job and you want to say thanks, you may elect to do one of the following:

  • Call or visit the Seguin Police Department during regular business hours and ask to speak to a supervisor within the employee's division of assignment.
  • Complete a Compliment form and submit it electronically.
  • Please send written correspondence via the United States Postal System to:
Seguin Police Department
Attn:  Professional Services Unit
350 N. Guadalupe Street
Seguin, TX 78155

Your comments will be forwarded through the employee's chain of command and be reviewed by the Office of the Chief of Police. After the review, a copy of your comments will be placed in the employee's personnel file and the original document provided to the employee.

File a Complaint Against a Seguin Police Employee

The department recognizes the importance of protecting the community from employees who have demonstrated acts of misconduct or have shown they are unfit for law enforcement work, the need to protect employees from false allegations of misconduct, and the opportunity to periodically assess the effectiveness of our policies and procedures. These objectives can only be accomplished through a consistently thorough and objective investigative process. 

The Professional Standards Unit of the police department is responsible for administering the complaint process. Should you hold the impression an employee has been involved in misconduct or are dissatisfied with our service you may register a complaint by:

  • Contacting the Professional Standards Unit during regular business hours at 
    (830) 401-2369.
  • Contacting an on-duty Supervisor at (830) 379-2123 after regular business hours
  • Complete and print a Complaint Form and physically bring (preferred) or mail it to:

    Seguin Police Department
    Professional Standards Unit
    350 N. Guadalupe Street
    Seguin, TX 78155
Texas law requires that all complaints against police officers be in writing and signed by the person making the complaint. Complaints must generally be made within 30-days of the incident unless special circumstances exist. The person who was wronged must file the complaint; other persons may give statements as witnesses.

False Complaints

Filing a false complaint against a police employee is a violation of the Texas Penal Code, Section 37.02. If a person knowingly and intentionally makes a false statement under oath, or swears to the truth of a false statement previously made under oath, a person may be found guilty and punished by a fine up to $4,000, confinement in jail up to one year, or by both fine and imprisonment.

Complaint Form

This form is provided for your convenience. However, you must print, sign, and mail this form to the department; they will not be electronically submitted. Please note that it is preferable to physically bring the form.  Send forms to:

Seguin Police Department
Professional Standards Unit
350 N. Guadalupe Street
Seguin, TX 78155

Get Notifications